Free Book Online
Categories
A Death in the Dales (Kate Shackleton Mystery)

Pdf

A Death in the Dales (Kate Shackleton Mystery)

3.5 (3622)

Log in to rate this item

    Available in PDF Format | A Death in the Dales (Kate Shackleton Mystery).pdf | English
    Frances Brody(Author)

An intricate plot set in the 1920s English countryside and Frances Brody's "refreshingly complex heroine" (Kirkus) Kate Shackleton make A Death in the Dales an absorbing 7th installment in this mystery, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Agatha Christie.

A murder most foul

When the landlord of a Yorkshire tavern is killed in plain sight, Freda Simonson, the only witness to the crime, becomes plagued with guilt, believing the wrong man has been convicted. Following her death, it seems that the truth will never be uncovered in the peaceful village of Langcliffe...

A village of secrets

But it just so happens that Freda's nephew is courting the renowned amateur sleuth Kate Shackleton, who decides to holiday in Langcliffe with her indomitable teenage niece, Harriet. When Harriet strikes up a friendship with a local girl whose young brother is missing, the search leads Kate to uncover another suspicious death, not to mention an illicit affair.

The case of a lifetime

As the present mysteries merge with the past's mistakes, Kate is thrust into the secrets that Freda left behind and realizes that this courageous woman has entrusted her with solving a murder from beyond the grave. It soon becomes clear to her that nothing in Langcliffe is quite as it appears, and with a murderer on the loose and an ever-growing roster of suspects, this isn't the holiday Kate was expecting...

Frances Brody's Kate Shackleton returns in A Death in the Dales with another mystery that's sure to "hold the reader attention and make them continue reading into the small hours of the night" (York Press, UK).

4.2 (13303)
  • Pdf

*An electronic version of a printed book that can be read on a computer or handheld device designed specifically for this purpose.

Formats for this Ebook

PDF
Required Software Any PDF Reader, Apple Preview
Supported Devices Windows PC/PocketPC, Mac OS, Linux OS, Apple iPhone/iPod Touch.
# of Devices Unlimited
Flowing Text / Pages Pages
Printable? Yes

Book details

  • PDF | 495 pages
  • Frances Brody(Author)
  • Thorndike Press Large Print; Lrg edition (2 Aug. 2017)
  • English
  • 4
  • Crime, Thrillers & Mystery
Read online or download a free book: A Death in the Dales (Kate Shackleton Mystery)

Review Text

  • By Saracen's Bob on 12 October 2016

    Dark secrets lurk within the tight-knit community of a Yorkshire Dales village. They simmer below the surface of village life. Our heroine Kate Shackleton's arrival with her niece, for rest and recuperation following illness, inadvertently brings them to the boil. Ms Brody 'turns the screw' (as Henry James put it) by having the lives and well-being of young innocent bystanders put in jeopardy by events totally outwith their control or youthful understanding.I absolutely hate that Ms Brody's works seem to be classed as 'cosy crime'. There is nothing cosy about brutal sudden death and it's repercussions. At the heart of this book lies the blackest of black villainy and shocking social dysfunction.Of course, and I don't think I'm plot-spoiling here, Kate sorts it all out as best she can. Some sort of justice occurs and equilibrium of a kind is restored. As readers we are reassured and comforted by the reliable presence of Kate and her entourage.Ms Brody, as ever, provides a wonderful sense of the time and place in which the story unfolds. It is a joy to read. There are no jarring anachronisms or, even greater sin, convoluted unnecessary period references which add nothing to the plot.To reiterate this is not 'cosy crime'. Ms Brody does not go in for the 'grand guignol' which seems to have afflicted the work of so many contemporary detective fiction writers but neither did Chandler, Hammet or the great master Simenon. A well-plotted story with believable characters set in a realistic milieu is what counts. Frances Brody comes up trumps time and time again.The dark heart of this story lingers with me still...

  • By CommonReader on 27 February 2017

    This book is certainly not just a superficial light-weight murder mystery. The main character is interesting - actually there are no straightforward characters in this whole series. It has a certain melancholic feel without making you feel bad.

  • By mandynel on 8 April 2017

    This is a great book well written with ano unexpected twist at the end.

  • By Guest on 14 March 2017

    this was purchased as a gift, they were very pleased with it

  • By Kathrine reindel on 14 March 2017

    A good story,authentic feel of the period

  • Name:
    The message text:

    Miscellanea