Free Book Online
Categories
The End of the World Running Club

Pdf

The End of the World Running Club

4.5 (1085)

Log in to rate this item

    Available in PDF Format | The End of the World Running Club.pdf | English
    Adrian J Walker(Author)
The Number One Bestseller and featured on Simon Mayo's Radio 2 Book Club

THE ULTIMATE RACE-AGAINST-TIME THRILLER

When the world ends and you find yourself stranded on the wrong side of the country, every second counts.

No one knows this more than Edgar Hill. 550 miles away from his family, he must push himself to the very limit to get back to them, or risk losing them forever...

His best option is to run.
But what if your best isn’t good enough?

An original and powerful post-apocalyptic thriller, perfect for fans of The Martian

"Extraordinary" (Simon Mayo Radio 2 Book Club)"Ridiculously gripping straight from the start" (Jenny Colgan)"Will thrill and delight ... a terrifically well-observed, haunting and occasionally harrowing read" (Starburst)"This is an uplifting, exciting and often humorous yarn about camaraderie, endurance and redemption. Throughout, Walker nicely evokes the agony and exhilaration of distance running." (The Times)"... what sets this novel apart is Walker's extraordinary emotional articulacy" (The Sun)"A page-turning thriller with a pace as relentless as the characters' feet hitting the pavement. A deft look into the mind of a man who needs the near-destruction of the world to show him what truly matters" (Laura Lam author of False Hearts)"Brilliant ... superb to the end" (Lucy Mangan)"A really fun, engaging, exciting, and compassionate take on a familiar scenario: the apocalypse ... Highly recommended" (David Owen Carnegie longlisted author of Panther)"Compulsively readable" (SFX)"A compelling read" (The Financial Times)"a book that you won’t ever want to reach the final page of. All good things must come to an end but Walker’s tale of courage and fortitude will linger on" (Culturefly)"This is a wonderful book. The author brings an almost cozy domesticity to the end of the world, as his protagonist struggles to come to terms with what it means to be a husband and a father as the world falls apart around him. The central journey is a glorious roar of defiance against the brutality of a broken world and a shattered society, woven together with a lament for things lost and things left undone and unsaid. Adrian Walker breaks your heart in unexpected ways, and leaves you with a sense of stories still to be told. An end-of-the-world tale that is anything but an ending" (Anne Corlett author of The Space Between the Stars)

3.2 (3076)
  • Pdf

*An electronic version of a printed book that can be read on a computer or handheld device designed specifically for this purpose.

Formats for this Ebook

PDF
Required Software Any PDF Reader, Apple Preview
Supported Devices Windows PC/PocketPC, Mac OS, Linux OS, Apple iPhone/iPod Touch.
# of Devices Unlimited
Flowing Text / Pages Pages
Printable? Yes

Book details

  • PDF | 464 pages
  • Adrian J Walker(Author)
  • Del Rey; 01 edition (2 Jun. 2016)
  • English
  • 3
  • Science Fiction & Fantasy
Read online or download a free book: The End of the World Running Club

Review Text

  • By Lipsquid on 27 February 2017

    Edgar, a slightly overweight, and somewhat lacking father somehow misses the news about the impending apocalypse. As you do. He was drunk and hungover he begrudgingly takes his tiny son out for a walk when he suddenly realises that there are no people around. And strange noises. And no wildlife...then the asteroids hit...Hunkering down with his family, they end up trapped in their basement with precious little supplies and things become desperate.Upon being rescued, he's soon separated from his family and he and several others try to reunite with lost ones. Trouble is they're at the other end of the UK. And the only way to get there is on foot.There have been many mixed reviews on this book. I personally loved it. Edgar is self involved and not a great husband and father. He only realises his blessings when they're taken from him.There are some great characters in this book. Bryce and Grimes really stood out and strong (and polar opposite) characters.There's a Lord of the Flies feel about this story, in terms of how humanity would change and how behaviours are brought forward that would never have been in normal society.There's loss and grief for all. In a world that no longer resembles anything they've seen before. Yet they still endure an arduous trek to help a man find his family. And the bond that they have, even when all seems hopeless is fantastic.A great character piece set in an apocalyptic world. Absolutely loved it!

  • By S Chandler on 27 August 2016

    Powerful book about life, love, friendships and the grind of life. It is hugely entertaining, thought provoking and I read it in one sitting - much to the frustration of my husband who was left looking after the 4 year old... ironic really given the subject matter! Had the World ended I might not have noticed. Great book, not something I would usually read but thought I would give it a go. So so glad I did! Some wonderful twists and turns, great character development, one I got attached to didn't make it - so potentially be prepared for tears!

  • By Rikitkitovi on 14 August 2016

    I didn't read this for ages because the title put me off. Then it came up on recommended reading as it was similar to others I have read before. So I bought it and forgot I had it on my kindle until I ran out of other books to read and discovered I'd sownloaded it over a month ago and had forgotten about. Well, I stand corrected that one shouldn't judge a book by its cover, let alone its title. Typically British humour, which is so refreshing as most end post apocalyptic books are set in the US and the scale of miles covered is daunting... Not so, this book is set in the UK and is funny!!! Don't do as I did and pass this one by.... give it a read, it's very good.

  • By Langton73 on 30 April 2017

    If you've enjoyed a book like the life of PI, where the author is able to transform from a reality we all know well into one that is as fantastic as it is awful, then you are going to enjoy this.Totally relevant to today's world, how we live and how we've confused the big and the small things.Knowing the parts of the UK that are visited during this epic adventure was a nice touch for me, but not at all important if you are unfamiliar with that geography.

  • By Trigger on 15 March 2017

    I couldn't put this down, I was drawn in by the story set in familiar and yet unknown place. This book made me think about me and my life as well as those of the characters within the tale. Not my usual genre of book , however its a thoroughly good ,original read. Loved it.

  • By Denyse King on 31 May 2017

    This was a fantastic read! When I bought it I was slightly concerned that it would be too much like Maze Runner, but I'm happy to say it is completely different. I do wish this was part of a series though as I would like to see how the main character continues to grow.

  • By Amanda on 11 March 2017

    This UK-based apocalyptic novel was really nicely done - the protagonist's development throughout the book is believable and thoughtful and I felt that Walker pulled together a wonderful and eclectic group of survivors. I particularly enjoyed the manor house scenes, fabulously done. Thanks for a well-written novel.

  • By Nikki noo on 27 August 2017

    Loved this book so much. Rich with character and replete with in depth plot. Really made me think and left me wanting to meet the man behind the story. Really felt as though I were inside his head… or he mine!

  • Name:
    The message text:

    Other Ebook

    Miscellanea